Camilo Rocha D.V.M & Associates

Hablamos Español

Serving the Community for over 55 years.

Firestone Animal Hospital
7539 Firestone Blvd.
Downey, CA. 90241

Phone:
(562) 928-1341

 

Hours of Operation:

Mon-Fri:
9:00am to 7:00pm
Sat.
9:00am to 4:00pm

 

Emergency Service Available After Hours

AAHA Accredited

American Animal Hospital Association

See what our clients are saying!!

 

Lisa Ailstock
3 weeks ago
Okay, it wasn’t really easy to search them through (owing to my poor navigational skills). However, Firestone Animal Hospital gets my happy nod any day. The place is simply wonderful and so full of good knowledge for an animal’s extreme health care. The service has got some good discounts on certain vaccinations and thumbs up to the team of doctors – that works here. They are really doing a good deed. Cheers!


ElishaGreen
a month ago
Yes, they have experienced hands and compassionate hearts. Absolutely! I am regular at Fire One Animal Hospital for our Maltese and he’s always take great care of. The center is always helpful & courteous while treating my pet. It’s never a reckless attitude display here, the place has got some incredibly doctors that carefully look into the health problems and treat accordingly. We trust Fire Stone Animal Hospital with all our heart.

5/17/2014
I took my puppy labrador who was having horrible diarrhea and Dr Rocha saw her quickly without an appointment. He also did a full doggy check and pointed out that she also had bilateral ear infections.  He took the time to explain the physical signs to look for in ear infections and how to prevent it, since this is my first dog. The meds he prescribed made my puppy start feeling better by the next day and her activity level returned to normal. Prices are the same as other vets or even cheaper. Dr Rocha is great.


2/19/2014
I am an owner of a new puppy and purchased the puppy program offered at this hospital because it was affordable and it provides all the necessary vaccines for my puppy's first year. They offer discounts on specific days of the week! This hospital is a family business, so they work as a team and carry friendly staff.


Mike & Liz R -March 2013 *****
This is the only office in the area that a human being actually answered the phone shortly after midnight. Miley snuck out and was hit-- we don't even know by what ---a car ...possibly a bat. The manner in which the doctor got to the hospital in 5 mins and helped her right away was really something. Since I work in the entertainment industry...I was thinking they should make a show out of this guy! She's still hospitalized...just got back from seeing her, but it seems like she's gonna be fine. Spoke to another client whose dog recently has emergency surgery to remove a "shell" from her intestines and she's doing well. Just want to commend this facility, especially the doctor. We thank you so much for saving Miley's Life. We will never forget how you saved him. We appreciate the confidence and faith you gave us!
Love

Irene & George - March 2013 *****
Dear Dr. & Mrs. Rocha: My sincerest thank you to both of you for all your loving care of Bella, Sunshine, and Pandora. You are both so dedicated to the care and comfort of all the animals that come thru your door. Thank your staff for me also. They are great! God bless you both.  We have been clients for so many years and find that your consistency and prices are very fair. I just recently found that you are AAHA certified, and how very few hospitals earn that accreditation.
Congratulations

Alexandra H. - February 2013 *****
I had been nothing short of impressed and happy with my first visit to this hospital, as it was my first experience with a veterinarian. I just adopted two little ones, one from the pound, the other I found on the street. The staff was friendly and warm and eager to pet my adoptees. I did not have to wait long, and the puppy and adult packages they offer made it affordable. Dr.  Rocha thoroughly answered my questions and was wonderful with my dogs. Then I panicked when the older one was attacked by something that got into my yard. I called after midnight, and Dr. Rocha met me at the hospital 10 minutes later. He stabilized him and explained that he had a compound fracture. An animal- most probably another, much larger dog, had grabbed him by the shoulder and almost tore the leg off. I am crying as I remember how I felt when I found him. But he put him back together! I still can't believe it... but when I was in the lobby waiting, I did notice plenty of thank you cards, and most of them were regarding severe cases with
little or no hope. Now I understand this is a man of experience, not a miracle worker, but someone who has been doing this for some time , and an expert with animals.- Alexandra H.

Joshua K - January 2013 *****
My bad luck in life is my dogs' skin problems. This goes back to dogs I had 20 years ago...which leads me to review this doctor- something I never do. He made his diagnosis and treatment plan so quickly that I doubted it at first, but I realized he had quite a bit of experience under his belt (from the accreditations and diplomas in the hall and exam). So I went with it including a severe diet change (after years with a top brand). I couldn't be more impressed, now, a month later.
Honey's skin is so much better, and her demeanor has improved too (no more itching and discomfort). I commend this doctor and his experience.

David - Dec 1, 2011 *****
This place I great, the location is modern an clean, and the people here, specially the receptionist, is very caring and knowledgeable. I used to go to Casillas, and although I loved that place, I will be coming to this place from now on. (Their prices are very affordable, and even let u knows of options for you to save! I think consultation is $ 35)Fast and affordable! And with plenty of parking.

Lester - Dec 3, 2011 *****
I did not expect the type of service I was used to in the Midwest where I'm from: old fashioned, family oriented (care and concern), involved and expert. As an avid German Shepherd owner my whole life, the care I've seen over my many years of dog ownership is quite eclectic, varied and unpredictable. The care Rin Tin received put me at ease regarding his critical care. I thought the veterinary care you see in the old Rockwell paintings was from a bygone era; Dr. Rocha has epitomized those paintings and that era- good old American expertise.


Manny  - Nov 5, 2011 *****
I simply love my pets. I don't mess around with their healthcare and I use only the best. I don't mind spending my money on them because they're my babies and I'm not looking for a deal, but I have a-lot of experience with finding the best of the best- whether restaurant, entertainment or healthcare- and this vet is simply the best. His experience is uncanny. His knowledge indispensable. As a foreigner, I have an accent as well, so I don't mind that this man has an accent. Besides, my Danes and dobies don't talk! I have used dr. Rocha on emergencies as well...extremely dependable. I am confident and even proud of the care my babies get. The staff is very very warm as well.


Jane - Oct 14, 2011 *****
I'm a new client to this facility and I had my concerns as many pet owners do over pricing, service and a good vet. First, their service is hands on, and from what I could gage with other clients, very individualized to each client....this is a GOOD THING. They are far from 'corporate' medicine, and the pricing is competitive (hint: go to their website). They are not cheap, and after 25 years of owning cats, dogs and birds (yes, I'm a single teacher!), I have found 2 very cheap vets...and I will never go that route. The pricing here is FAIR, especially when you gage the range of the doctor's experience and service. I'm all cats now, and I liked Dr. Rocha's old fashioned preventative medicine and I was more than willing to pay a bit more for their spays and neuters knowing he's doing it, and knowing the staff's concern for each animal's interest.


Moses  - Oct 6, 2011 *****
My cat had a difficult to diagnose obstruction in its intestine and after taing it to 3 other locations, including two specialists, Dr. Rocha was able to diagnose the problem correctly. He made my year! Because my cat Mouse is so important to me! His experience really saved the day. I asked how long he had been practicing and I still cant believe it- 50 years! Who practice anything for that long. No wonder he was so efficient and accurate. I cant thank him and his staff enough!


Jay  - Sep 16, 2011 *****
Since it had been some time that I needed a veterinarian (and my long ago experiences were not so great), I ws intimidated with the process of finding a good one. I recently adopted a doberman with some problems, and found myself in a bind late one evening. Guseppi somehow got into some sort of poison - in my garage or at my neighbors- and I though he was done. Affording the care needed was concerning, but the front office at this hospital made getting financing very easy. The vet came in just for my situation and I couldn't be happier because Guseppi can't be better than he is now if not for this great group of people. I since took him back and began treatment on his initial ongoing problems from the past. He is just so much better and I am so grateful. Dr. Rocha is very, very , very good. A true scientist at what he does.

Joanne  - Sep 15, 2011 *****
My family has been clients of Dr. Rocha at Firestone Animal Hospital (FAH) since he was first located accoss the street from All American Home Center. The office has since moved and I continue using his services because they have always provided compassionate, caring and quality veterinarian services. As for the rates, they are comparable to other veterinarian hospitals. It was Oct. 2005 and our dog Chaco, a 9 lbs toy fox terrier was hit by a car. Chaco had serious trauma, collapsed lungs, internal bleeding and a fracture to his leg that looked like a million shattered pieces of glass on the X-ray. We immediately contacted FAH. Because it was after hours, the on call service referred us to a 24 hour ER Animal Hospital in Norwalk. Chaco spent the night in ICU and fortunately made it through that night. The next morning we transferred Chaco (after paying $ 1800 for a night in ICU) to FAH. Dr. Rocha was very honest as was the ICU in Norwalk and said th! e fractured leg may not be repairable. We asked for the alternative (surgery) accepting the risks fully explained by Dr. Rocha. Chaco had surgery to remove the pieces of shattered bone and insert a titanium replacement. We expected a 4-5 day inpatient recovery, but Dr. Rocha and his wife noticed Chaco was depressed after my visits and would not eat unless I would visit mid day during my lunch hour and hand feed him. Dr. Rochas wife even made Chaco home made chicken broth hoping to provide some nourishment. In the end, Dr. Rocha encouraged me to take him home after 3 days and provided specific directions on caring for him and a scheduled follow up visit a week after. Chaco is now 11 years old and runs and plays like the car accident never happened. His nickname is The Bionic Dog and we have Dr. Rocha to thank for that. I highly recommend Dr. Rocha, a skilled and professional veterinarian and surgeon. Thank you so very much!

Hanna  - Jun 25, 2011 *****
I have been taking my pets to Dr. Rocha for over 20 years. I now live in Hemet, and I still come to Downey for veterinary care. He is such a skilled practitioner and surgeon. He has really maximized each of my pets' lives; they've all lived past 15 - dogs and cats. I just wanted express my sincere gratitude for such a lovely professional.


Willy  - Jul 27, 2009 *****
Nice Vet I thought the service I received at this animal hospital was excellent. The Doctor was helpful and after two visits my Bobo's skin condition improved marvelously. I've been to others, and this one is by far the best.

Excellent Service! *****
by jannetmorison at Citysearch
I have been going here for years now. My dog loves the atmosphere and always comes home in a good mood. Where other dog walkers/groomers treat their 'clients' just as a meal ticket, Johnny and Ty truly take an interest in knowing and caring for the the dogs in their care. I recommend them to everyone who cares about their pet. You really get your money's worth on the dog walking and overnight stays. I have used other kennels prior and it takes my dog a week to forgive me when I get back to town. With Johnny and Ty she doesn't want to come home!! I highly recommend them!!!


Thanks, We're very grateful. *****
by ademarr at Citysearch
Our dog (chihuahua) wasn't eating she was very sad and she wouldn't want to move, she also puked and had an upset stomach..and we took her to a vet in our city and the dr. wasn't much help, we didn't know what to do..until a friend of ours recommended the firestone animal hospital...Dr. Rocha diagnosed our chihuahua with pyometra that day, the next day she had surgery and now shes back to her normal self. We're really grateful that we came across Dr.Rocha and his staff....there all very nice people.


Thank for your dedication. *****
by pompom1028 at Citysearch
Scooby has recovered 100%! Thank you Dr. Rocha for your dedication! And please thank your kind staff.

Excellent Animal Hospital *****
by wanderingfree at Citysearch
We feel so fortunate to have found such an excellent animal hospital. All of you were so kind and understanding... we very much appreciate your compassion and assistance.

I highly recommend Dr. Rocha *****
by part of at Citysearch
It was Oct. 2005 and our dog Chaco, a 9 lbs toy fox terrier was hit by a car. Chaco had serious trauma, collapsed lungs, internal bleeding and a fracture to his leg that looked like a million shattered pieces of glass on the X-ray. We immediately contacted FAH. Because it was after hours, the on call service referred us to a 24 hour ER Animal Hospital in Norwalk. Chaco spent the night in ICU and fortunately made it through that night. The next morning we transferred Chaco (after paying $ 1800 for a night in ICU) to FAH. Dr. Rocha was very honest as was the ICU in Norwalk and said the fractured leg may not be repairable. We asked for the alternative undefined#40;surgery) accepting the risks fully explained by Dr. Rocha. Chaco had surgery to remove the pieces of shattered bone and insert a titanium replacement. We expected a 4-5 day inpatient recovery, but Dr. Rocha and his wife noticed Chaco was depressed after my visits and would not eat unless I would visit mi! d day during my lunch hour and hand feed him. Dr. Rochas wife even made Chaco home made chicken broth hoping to provide some nourishment. In the end, Dr. Rocha encouraged me to take him home after 3 days and provided specific directions on caring for him and a scheduled follow up visit a week after. Chaco is now 11 years old and runs and plays like the car accident never happened. His nickname is The Bionic Dog and we have Dr. Rocha to thank for that. I highly recommend Dr. Rocha, a skilled and professional veterinarian and surgeon.

Thank you very much  *****
by AboveandBeyond at Citysearch
I have moved to Cambria, Ca, and I have Paws and Rascal too. My son is building a home here and I am very happy. I want to thank you for all the care you have given my two cats. I am having their nails clipped and giving them the Advantage for fleas. I hope your business prospers and thank you very much. Mary


God bless you *****
by redheadmommy at Citysearch
Thank you for always being there for us and Daisy, and your kindness and time. Thank you very much for everything. God bless you and everyone at your hospital. Take care with love, Gloria and family


We really appreciate the care you provided.*****
by Guest1000 at Citysearch
Your help, concern and love for our beloved Kaanapali will never be forgotten. She's doing better than ever. We really appreciate the care you provided for her. It's hard to find such sincere, quality service these days. All the best, Ernesto S

Very Nice Veterinarian *****
by Morgan at Citysearch
My doberman Jenny was mauled by a pit-bull and a chow almost six months ago. We came in to this hospital late in the day, without calling, and immediately the staff and the Dr. rushed to help us. Even though it was fairly busy, they tended to her first for 45 minutes because of the severity of her wounds. She was hospitalized for six days. During that time, the Dr. would visit and treat her continuously; I met him at the hospital three times after midnight to visit and support her...she is really part of our family. After Dr. Rocha stabilized her, he performed reconstructive surgery on her jaw which was virtually shattered and torn apart. The results are a miracle. Especially heartwarming is the manner in which Jenny is grateful to the Dr. ...as if she knew exactly what he did for her. His expertise and dedication- together with his staff's- is a rarity. All of us are so grateful. Thank you! We - as a family- highly recommend Dr. Rocha.

Salma Y. Impeccabe Vet (Insider Pages) *****
These people go beyond great service...they really seem to care about every patient that walks in. I was there on a busy Saturday morning and the service was impecable. The doctor is clear and thorough. They're not cheap, but they're fair. Besides, who wants a cheap doctor for their best friend.
January 30, 2010

love their old fashioned service with modern amenities
Anonymous *****
It seems like they're a family business who serves each client and their pet individually. They really treated us well, and Dr. Rocha was great. My dog was hit by a car and the Dr. reconstructed his jaw and his leg...now he's doing great. I highly recommend this hospital!

by Johnson, A 04/30/2011 *****
I liked the way this vet got to the point. He's older, and it seems he's been practicing a long time so he knows what he's doing. My other experiences with other vets gave me the impression that they 'weren't sure.' Very confident with this doctor, and the staff was nice. My dog is doing much better after a long time, on-going problem. Highly recommended.

Celebrating 55 years of service

CareCreditAmex-Discover-Mastercard-Visa

Apply for Financing
www.carecredit.com

Like Us on facebookFirestone Animal Hospital - (562) 928-1341

Firestone Animal Hospital
7539 Firestone Blvd., Downey, CA. 90241
Phone: (562) 928-1341
Email: AnimalHospitalFirestone@Gmail.com

Amy Paterson reviewed Firestone Animal Hospital  *****
June 25 · 
I take my pet dog to Firestone Animal Hospital to get his vaccinations done. The staff at Firestone Animal Hospital is very friendly and I know that my dog gets the right level of care here. I highly appreciate the love and care everyone has at this clinic.

Shawna Marshall reviewed Firestone Animal Hospital  *****
April 26 · 
I got 20% off on veterinary services at Firestone Animal Hospital which I used to get a comprehensive exam done on my cat. I found the vet at Firestone to be very friendly and loving and I have since then got all my cat’s shots done from there. I recommend them.

Dawna Harris reviewed Firestone Animal Hospital  *****
August 24 · 
Thank you Dr. Rocha and the team at Firestone Animal Hospital for taking care of my dog Foxy when she got her paw injured. I was very worried. The staff helped calm me down. Thank you so much.

Kyra Crumpton reviewed Firestone Animal Hospital ***** 
August 12 · 
I take my kitten to Firestone Animal Hospital for her vaccinations. The staff there is very loving and makes my kitty feel at home. I recommend this place for kitten owners.

Sheila Rez reviewed Firestone Animal Hospital *****
April 19 · 
I rushed my dalmation Oreo to Firestone Animal Clinic with a wound. He’d gotten into a fight with a stray dog. I was so worried because Oreo was bleeding. Dr. Rocha assured me he would do a thorough job and one of the staff sat with me while he did the dressing. I was so glad to see Oreo padded up. His wound has since healed and I couldn’t be happier. Thank you Dr. Rocha.